Yowch! 4 more treatments

After today, I have 4 more radiation treatments.

And how am I doing, you ask? Well, as expected, symptoms have continued to increase. Yowch! No surprise, but it sure is grueling. I didn’t lose weight last week, so that’s good…but eating is so darn painful!

I’m currently minimizing my talking, because my mouth hurts so much. It’s also hard to understand me. C is being a good sport making various phone calls for me (pharmacy, insurance, FSA, etc.). Over the weekend, I went for a walk with a friend, and planned in advance it was both our jobs to make sure I didn’t talk much.

Also, the skin on the right side of my neck is getting burned, like a very bad sunburn, from the radiation. If you see me, I’ll have a white thing around my neck. It looks somewhat dramatic. From my perspective, though, it feels soothing. It’s a “dressing” which basically means a wound covering – in my case, manuka honey beneath a pad, and light elastic to keep it in place.

I expect over the next few weeks my symptoms will continue to increase before they turn around. In that time, I might not be up for posting as much (especially if I start some more significant pain meds), but tomorrow I’ll post about the radiation treatment itself. Spoiler alert: the treatment is surprisingly short.

Here are recent photos, snapshots of my daily experience:

About blenderninja

In fall 2010 I was diagnosed with oral cancer on my tongue. Cancer? Seriously? Shit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Yowch! 4 more treatments

  1. Lisa Feldman says:

    Congratulations on only four more!

  2. Rita Shaby says:

    It’s so good to hear that you are almost done! What an ordeal, with a positive outcome we’re all looking forward to.

  3. The end is near-ish! I hope that it will be a relief to complete the treatments, even though you won’t feel better right away. Happy to go for a silent-ish walk if you’d like.

  4. mindygem says:

    Good morning. Sounds hard. You’re going to get through this, and I hope the pain is lessoned soon. I wish I could take it all away.
    I wonder if there is anything I can do for you to C? Sending you love and healing.
    Mindy

  5. Jennifer Raikes says:

    Thanks, as always, for the update, Silent Ninja. Thank goodness the countdown is getting shorter. Sending Los Angeles healing vibes – they are very powerful. Co

  6. Carol Marcus says:

    Keep fighting the good fight – you will win!
    Sending wishes for a speedy recovery.
    Carol Marcus

Leave a comment